Reduced price! Archy Marshall - A New Place 2 Drown View larger

Archy Marshall - A New Place 2 Drown

UPC / Barcode: 634904075019

New product

1 available

$36.00 Inc. GST


$40.00 Inc. GST

Product info

XL Recordings - XLLP750

While you may not recognize his name, Archy Marshall is in fact the artist otherwise known as King Krule but on A New Place 2 Drown he severs all ties with the alias and focuses on a more club rooted robust-RNB style. Straight from the off he drops a splattering of skittering footwork lite beats on Any God of Yours before abandoning his South London drawl for a more unidentifiable vocal delivery on Swell, elements of his previous alias do creep in in flashes but overall the sound is one of rediscovery and a newly found admiration for more shadowy electronics and hip-hop rooted textures, perhaps this is King Krule maturing and developing his sound pallette or maybe its his calling card to reach out for bigger stadium sized audiences? Eitherway its an enjoyable listen and offers an interesting new direction for fans of old while has the backdrop to welcome into the fold, ones of new.

Side A:
Any God of Yours 1:38
Swell 2:08
Arise Dear Brother 2:54
Ammi Ammi 3:29
Buffed Sky 2:37
Sex With Nobody 3:33

Side B:
Eye's Drift 2:22
The Sea Liner MK 1 3:36
Empty Vessels 3:29
New Builds 1:33
Dull Boys 3:25
Thames Water 7:01