Reduced price! Mike Krol - Power Chords View larger

Mike Krol - Power Chords

UPC / Barcode: 673855060910

New product

$30.60 Inc. GST


$36.00 Inc. GST

Product info

Merge - MRG609LP

Includes Digital Download

Power Chords, Mike Krol's new Merge release, picks up where 2015's Turkey left off. It traces Krol's journey back to punk rock, harnessing both the guitar technique and the musical redemption referenced in its title. He's wielding the same influences-Misfits, The Strokes, early Weezer, Ramones-but turning up the gravity and the gain. Indeed, Krol has gone somewhere new; yes, he bludgeoned himself with over-analysis and self-loathing, but along the way he stumbled upon a trove of intricate guitar lines and artfully mutating melodies. Music ruined Krol's life. And then saved it. In chronicling that process, Krol has made his best record-painful, voyeuristic, and angry, but ultimately transcendent and timeless. It is the sound of Krol giving in to a force greater than himself, as though the chords are playing him rather than the other way around.

Side A:
Power Chords
What's The Rhythm
An Ambulance
Little Drama
Left For Dead
Blue And Pink

Side B:
I Wonder
Wasted Memory
Nothing To Yell About
Arrow In My Heart
The End