Reduced price! Richard Barbieri - Stranger Inside View larger

Richard Barbieri - Stranger Inside

UPC / Barcode: 802644802718

New product

1 available

$32.80 Inc. GST


$41.00 Inc. GST

Product info

Kscope - KSCOPE1027

THE 2008 SOPHOMORE SOLO ALBUM FROM THE JAPAN AND PORCUPINE TREE KEYBOARDIST RELEASED ON VINYL FOR THE FIRST TIME. As a member of the new-wave pioneers Japan, Richard Barbieri was a leader in creating the ground-breaking synthesiser sound and use of electronic equipment that influenced a generation of artists. Together, the band recorded five studio albums culminating in the groundbreaking Tin Drum, which stayed in the UK Albums Chart for a year. Following Japan, Barbieri joined Steven Wilson in the formative years of the legendary progressive outfit Porcupine Tree, playing keyboards on all the band's albums since 1993 as well as releasing two striking solo albums: Things Buried and Stranger Inside. His ear for composing unique soundscapes and synth textures recently led to collaborations with other talented composers, such as Steve Hogarth (Marillion), Steve Jansen & Mick Karn (Japan) and Steven Wilson (Porcupine Tree). Barbieri's second solo album, Stranger Inside, followed the artistic and critical success Things Buried, further developing his unique sound. Writing and producing the album himself, the album includes contributions from long-term creative partners Steve Jansen (mixing/co-arranging), Steven Wilson (mastering), Gavin Harrison (drums) and the legendary double bass player, Danny Thompson (Pentangle). Although instrumental in nature, most tracks feature radical and atmospheric manipulations of the sampled voices of Tim Bowness and Suzanne Barbieri. This new to vinyl edition of Stranger Inside is released in tandem with his second solo album, Things Buried, and following the release of his Variants series on vinyl. It is presented as a 2LP in wide spine packaging.

Side A:
Cave 6:32
All Fall Down 3:11
Hypnotek 8:16

Side B:
Byzantium 7:32
Decay 5:02
Abyssyn 6:45

Side C:
Morphia 5:44
Retina Blur 4:30
Stranger Inside 3:36