Reduced price!
Abiodun Oyewole - Gratitude

Abiodun Oyewole - Gratitude

Barcode: 809236160461


1 in stock - ready to ship / pick up

$47.70 Inc. GST


$53.00 Inc. GST

Product info


Gratitude is the eagerly anticipated new solo album from Abiodun Oyewole, the poet, teacher and founding member of The Last Poets. The album liner notes include an extensive new interview with Abiodun himself, detailing the writing process of the album.

Looking back, the Last Poets are often referred to as the godfathers of rap, and by listening to their early recordings; it's easy to hear why. Their words encompass revolution, sex, death, drugs, and Black Power - they own their words. From their mouths - words are a sense of pride, a statement, and a feeling of empowerment. There's no self-conscious hang-up with the Last Poets using words as an art form. On May 19th, 1968 (in celebration of Malcolm X's birthday), The Last Poets performed their first ever concert in Mount Morris Park (in Harlem), now called Marcus Garvey Park. Their debut album was released in 1970 including poet/singer Abiodun Oyewole.

Now AFAR is proud to present a whole new way of thinking socially, politically, emotionally, and humanly - via the perspective of Abiodun Oyewole of The Last Poets with his new solo album 'Gratitude' - it's not a protest album, it's an inspirational LP/CD via the inclusive words and God-like voice of Abiodun - this is not an angry man, but an older wiser man - reflecting on his life and spiritual quests. Rappers love him for coining the phrase "Party and Bullshit" decades ago - but this is not that - this is a sacred journey with a universal message for all people regardless of their background and nationality.

Side A:
Rain (Featuring Taylor Pace) 04:49
My Life 03:51
A Poem 04:45

Side B:
Harlem 06:21
Brooklyn (featuring Ade de Poet) 03:52
To Begin (featuring Pharoah Davis) 04:59

Side C:
Praise The Lord 06:04
Spirit (featuring Melodie Nicole) 03:41
Without You (featuring Jessica Care Moore) 05:27

Side D:
Occupy (featuring Mosi) 04:31
Right Here Waiting (featuring J. Ivy) 04:16
What I Want To See 03:16

Stuff about us you might like to know

  • We are a small independent record store that's been selling new vinyl records in Melbourne, Australia since 2011
  • All delivery orders are shipped for $8.95 with Australia Post and include tracking
  • Pickup is availble from 461 High St Northcote. This is a free option during checkout
  • We go to extreme lengths to make sure our customers are happy
  • We use the best mailers available with lots of space for corner protection, and we make sure orders are packed tightly to avoid seam splits
  • We ship almost all orders within 1 business day (excluding special or preorder products)
  • If there are any issue with an order due to damage, delivery issues or faulty discs we cover all costs associated with replacing and/or returning items
  • We're happy to give free expert advice about turntables and hi-fi including setup and playing issues
  • If you want to get in touch, email If you would like to talk to us on the phone, send an email requesting a call back