David Blue - S/T

Barcode: 8435725600129


1 in stock - ready to ship / pick up

$81.00 Inc. GST

Product info


First ever vinyl reissue of classic 1966 folk-rock album "David Blue"
"The Lost 1967 Elektra Recordings & More" includes previously unreleased American Patrol recordings - along with the three solo tracks included on Elektra's 1965 LP "Singer Songwriter Project".

Both releases include four-page color inserts with notes by author and musician Mark Brend.

These days, singer-songwriter and actor David Blue tends to be remembered only in relation to Bob Dylan. A member of the supporting cast in mid-60s Greenwich Village and The Rolling Thunder Revue. Yet to categorise Blue in this way is reductionist, and does him an injustice. He was something of an archetype of the 60s generation of Greenwich Village singer-songwriters. Yet, esteemed by his peers, he was overlooked. He released seven albums in a decade, and his acting career was shaping up when he died suddenly at the age of just 41.

His passing was barely noted in the rock press, and in the subsequent years Blue was all but forgotten. Of late, though, that's changed. His albums started to reappear on CD on small labels and, in 2020, both Rolling Stone and Mojo magazines published major reappraisals. Blue - at last - was getting the attention denied him in life.

It wasn't until 1965 that Blue, as Dave Cohen, released his first recordings - three songs on Elektra's Singer Songwriter Project. All betrayed a debt to pre-electric Dylan. But then again, so did much else coming out of Greenwich Village at the time. Elektra contracted Blue to do his own album, and in 1966 David Blue was released - his first recording to appear under that name. Electric folk rock with a garage band attitude, somewhat in debt to Highway 61, it didn't sell well. Shortly after the album's release Blue formed and toured with The American Patrol, a four-piece rock band, recording an album for Elektra that was never released.

Now, for the first time, Hanky Panky and Mapache release those historical abandoned American Patrol recordings, along with the three tracks included on Elektra's 1965 LP Singer Songwriter Project, as David Blue And The American Patrol The Lost 1967 Elektra Recordings & More and David Blue, his self-titled 1966 debut album, on two exclusive vinyl editions limited to 500 copies each.

Side A:
The Gasman Won't Buy Your Love
About My Love
So Easy She Goes By
If Your Monkey Can't Get It
Midnight Through Morning
It Ain't The Rain That Sweeps The Highway Clean

Side B:
Arcade Love Machine
Grand Hotel
I'd Like To Know
The Street
It Tastes Like Candy

Stuff about us you might like to know

  • We are a small independent record store that's been selling new vinyl records in Melbourne, Australia since 2011
  • All delivery orders are shipped for $8.95 with Australia Post and include tracking
  • Pickup is availble from 461 High St Northcote. This is a free option during checkout
  • We go to extreme lengths to make sure our customers are happy
  • We use the best mailers available with lots of space for corner protection, and we make sure orders are packed tightly to avoid seam splits
  • We ship almost all orders within 1 business day (excluding special or preorder products)
  • If there are any issue with an order due to damage, delivery issues or faulty discs we cover all costs associated with replacing and/or returning items
  • We're happy to give free expert advice about turntables and hi-fi including setup and playing issues
  • If you want to get in touch, email info@thornburyrecords.com. If you would like to talk to us on the phone, send an email requesting a call back