Floodlights - Painting Of My Time (Clear Vinyl)

Barcode: 0602448681775


1 in stock - ready to ship / pick up

$45.00 Inc. GST

Product info


In the spring of 2021, Floodlights brought to life their second full-length release, Painting of My Time. A project recorded live on a 24 track tape machine over three days by Nao Anzai at Soundpark Studios in Melbourne. The resulting ten tracks were sent to London to be mixed by the acclaimed sound engineer, Andrew Savours (Black Country New Road, Arctic Monkeys, My Bloody Valentine), before returning home to Melbourne to be mastered by Joe Carra (Amyl & The Sniffers, King Gizzard).

Painting of My Time encapsulates the sonic and personal progression of the group. An album consistent in its signature, evocative lyricism. A refinement and push responding to a raft of new experiences in an ever changing world. It's a journey of observations, reshaping views and identity, elaborating on themes of personal turbulence, self exploration, and the Australian landscape as a form of escapism. Taking their form from scrawled poetic prose, Floodlights' lyrics are honest. Words resonating out from humble beginnings, and speaking to the memories of those that relate. Lyricists, Ashlee Kehoe, and Louis Parsons, write expressively and with purpose. Words mature into melodies, and grow into songs that encapsulate a feeling. Stories that can't be spoken without the allure the sum of each of its parts offer. "One of the greatest joys of writing is harnessing the transition from a lyrical idea, to a fully formed composition that reflects the feelings you had when you wrote the lyrics", says Kehoe.

Painting of My Time marks a natural departure and arrival. An evolution as a group, and as individuals, fuelled by life's singular and shared experience. A response to questions asked over time, written down, and yelled with the conviction of honesty.

Side A:
Moment of Distraction
Lessons Learnt
On the Television
Something Blue

Side B:
Painting of My Time
Things You Do
Ramblings of a Passenger
Wide Open Land

Stuff about us you might like to know

  • We are a small independent record store that's been selling new vinyl records in Melbourne, Australia since 2011
  • All delivery orders are shipped for $8.95 with Australia Post and include tracking
  • Pickup is availble from 461 High St Northcote. This is a free option during checkout
  • We go to extreme lengths to make sure our customers are happy
  • We use the best mailers available with lots of space for corner protection, and we make sure orders are packed tightly to avoid seam splits
  • We ship almost all orders within 1 business day (excluding special or preorder products)
  • If there are any issue with an order due to damage, delivery issues or faulty discs we cover all costs associated with replacing and/or returning items
  • We're happy to give free expert advice about turntables and hi-fi including setup and playing issues
  • If you want to get in touch, email info@thornburyrecords.com. If you would like to talk to us on the phone, send an email requesting a call back