Hoy - Aquaslum

Barcode: 9324690103805


8 in stock - ready to ship / pick up

$27.00 Inc. GST

Product info

Includes Digital Download

HOY formed in late 2010 as a collaborative contemporary folk trio, combining the song-writing of Melbourne musicians, Felicity Cripps, Cecilia Dowling and Liam Linley.

'Aquaslum' is the band's debut album to be released on May 2nd 2014 through MGM.

After three years of writing, performing and touring the trio expanded to a six-piece band to record Aquaslum. HOY now includes members from Gotye, the Black Arm Band and The Basics.

'Aquaslum' was written in a grand old country house in regional France where the band wrote songs and baked a lot of apple crumple with fruit from the orchard. The French had never eaten it and it was a hit. The album was later recorded in a converted church in the Victorian Goldfields by producer Pip Norman (TZU, Sparkadia, Gossling) and mixed in London by Dan Rejmer (Bjork, Foals, Paul Kelly). Aquaslum features electric rock-outs, psychedelic interludes, classically inspired instrumentals and analogue samples. Nine tracks draw on rock, pop, folk and classical influences.

Last year HOY joined The Basics on their east-coast tour, playing sold out shows in every major city followed by their own headline tour for Brigitte Bardotan EP featuring two singles from Aquaslum.

"I've already developed some particularly strong feelings for this tune. It's put together with taut precision with each throb of the bass and clipped harmony paying appropriate tribute to pop/psych bands of the past. Watch, or rather listen to, these guys closely"
Dave Ruby Howe, triple j, on 'Brigitte Bardot'

1. Oceans of Champagne
2. Get Some Sleep
3. Aquaslum
4. Brigitte Bardot
5. Tell the Moon
6. Words
7.Wild Dog
8.Black Love
9.It's all up to You

Stuff about us you might like to know

  • We are a small independent record store that's been selling new vinyl records in Melbourne, Australia since 2011
  • All delivery orders are shipped for $8.95 with Australia Post and include tracking
  • Pickup is availble from 461 High St Northcote. This is a free option during checkout
  • We go to extreme lengths to make sure our customers are happy
  • We use the best mailers available with lots of space for corner protection, and we make sure orders are packed tightly to avoid seam splits
  • We ship almost all orders within 1 business day (excluding special or preorder products)
  • If there are any issue with an order due to damage, delivery issues or faulty discs we cover all costs associated with replacing and/or returning items
  • We're happy to give free expert advice about turntables and hi-fi including setup and playing issues
  • If you want to get in touch, email info@thornburyrecords.com. If you would like to talk to us on the phone, send an email requesting a call back