Orbital - S/T: The Green Album

Barcode: 5061017251187


1 in stock - ready to ship / pick up

$86.00 Inc. GST

Product info

London Records - LMS1725118

Double Vinyl , Gatefold sleeve, printed inners, sticker Originally released on September 30, 1991, Orbital's eponymous debut album became known as "The Green Album" to distinguish it from their second album (known as "The Brown Album") The Green Album includes the seminal 'Belfast' and a live version of 'Chime', the landmark dance track that launched their career in 1990. Following on from the UK Top 20 success of 2022's 30 Something, and the Top 10 for 2023's Optical Delusion, London Records launch an extensive 2024 campaign for Orbital, revisiting 1991's seminal debut Orbital (aka The Green Album). The Green Album heralded a brave new world for the UK musical landscape (DJ Mag would later decry that the album "rewrote the rule book for rave"). Brothers Paul and Phil Hartnoll eschewed formulas and clich s, choosing to explore wider textures, rhythms and stranger mind spaces within dance music. Their resulting album would enjoy both chart success and an enduring legacy, influencing and inspiring artists from Bj rk to Bicep, with the Hartnoll brothers going on to collaborate with artists as diverse as Madonna, Ennio Morricone, Kraftwerk, Sleaford Mods and Professor Brian Cox. 33 years since its original release the album is revisited, from black vinyl , limited colored vinyl and CD editions (long out of print), to special Record Store Day double Splatter Lp. In the digital space 'Tonight In Belfast' will be lauched on February 2nd, :a reworking of the band's seminal track 'Belfast', remixed by David Holmes and re-interpolated with new lyrics and vocal by acclaimed street poet Mike Garry. Orbital will be supporting The Green Album with an extensive headline UK tour this April (performing both their Green and Brown albums). Ahead of that they've just been announced today for Coachella 2024, as well as Miami's Ultra Festival and headline shows in New York and Chicago.

Side A:
The Moebius
Speed Freak
Macro Head

Side B:
Desert Storm

Side C:
Fahrenheit 303
Steel Cube Idolatry
High Rise

Side D:
Chime (Live)
Midnight (Live)

Stuff about us you might like to know

  • We are a small independent record store that's been selling new vinyl records in Melbourne, Australia since 2011
  • All delivery orders are shipped for $8.95 with Australia Post and include tracking
  • Pickup is availble from 461 High St Northcote. This is a free option during checkout
  • We go to extreme lengths to make sure our customers are happy
  • We use the best mailers available with lots of space for corner protection, and we make sure orders are packed tightly to avoid seam splits
  • We ship almost all orders within 1 business day (excluding special or preorder products)
  • If there are any issue with an order due to damage, delivery issues or faulty discs we cover all costs associated with replacing and/or returning items
  • We're happy to give free expert advice about turntables and hi-fi including setup and playing issues
  • If you want to get in touch, email info@thornburyrecords.com. If you would like to talk to us on the phone, send an email requesting a call back