Vaccines, The - Pick-Up Full Of Pink Carnations (Pink Vinyl)

Barcode: 691835888439


1 in stock - ready to ship / pick up

$43.00 Inc. GST

Product info

Thirty Tigers - 88439LP

Pick-Up Full Of Pink Carnations is the sixth studio album from indie-rock stalwarts The Vaccines. Recorded just before founding guitarist Freddie Cowan announced in early 2023 that he would be quitting the group, and featuring mixing from the renowned producer Dave Fridmann, it represents one of their most concept-heavy albums, with lead singer Justin Hayward-Young addressing the death of the American dream through his experiences living in L.A. 'Pick-Up Full Of Pink Carnations' is a line that came to me when I first moved to LA and was writing the song 'The Dreamer'. It felt really familiar but I didn't know where it came from. It took me a few months to realise that it is a misremembered lyric from Don McLean's American Pie, which was funny to me because that song had always sounded like disillusionment, the death of innocence and the death of the American dream. A bit like a dream itself, the line was mixed and misremembered. Living, writing and recording the record in LA - a place we all grew up intoxicated by the notion of - definitely forced me to confront the fact that however much we may dream, and however far we may run, we can't escape reality. And expectation vs reality is something we all face in our lives every day. We're told that we can have it all. But some things we can't have. And some things we have, we lose. But whilst what we experience may be different from dreams, it doesn't have to be worse. Our last album was an album about love. This is an album about loss. But I don't think that has to be a bad thing. Pink carnations symbolise gratitude and tell a person they'll never be forgotten. So whether its the loss of a lover, or a friend or even just a dream - the record is a reminder that they'll live on in whatever capacity the mind allows them to. And its a reminder to keep on dreaming.

Side A:
Sometimes, I Swear
Heartbreak Kid
Lunar Eclipse
Discount De Kooning (Last One Standing)
Primitive Man

Side B:
Another Nightmare
Love To Walk Away
The Dreamer
Anonymous In Los Feliz

Stuff about us you might like to know

  • We are a small independent record store that's been selling new vinyl records in Melbourne, Australia since 2011
  • All delivery orders are shipped for $8.95 with Australia Post and include tracking
  • Pickup is availble from 461 High St Northcote. This is a free option during checkout
  • We go to extreme lengths to make sure our customers are happy
  • We use the best mailers available with lots of space for corner protection, and we make sure orders are packed tightly to avoid seam splits
  • We ship almost all orders within 1 business day (excluding special or preorder products)
  • If there are any issue with an order due to damage, delivery issues or faulty discs we cover all costs associated with replacing and/or returning items
  • We're happy to give free expert advice about turntables and hi-fi including setup and playing issues
  • If you want to get in touch, email If you would like to talk to us on the phone, send an email requesting a call back