Various - Folk Funk & Trippy Troubadours Volume Two

Barcode: 5053760105435


1 in stock - ready to ship / pick up

$72.00 Inc. GST

Product info


RE:WARM Records are delighted to announce 'Folk Funk & Trippy Troubadours Volume Two' compiled by Paul Hillery - record collector, archivist and dj. The record is set for release on the 22nd September through RE:WARM, available on double vinyl, cd and digital. Hillery is a relentless seeker of musical treasures that span generation and genre, uncovering some brilliantly psychedelic and ever so funky gems along the way. These nuggets were initially documented on the Folk Funk and Trippy Troubadours blog, then released on 'Folk Funk & Trippy Troubadours Volume One' in 2021. Volume One received praise from all the right places, including BBC 6 Music's Lauren Laverne making it her compilation of the week and Giles Peterson giving the record plenty of airtime. For 'Folk Funk & Trippy Troubadours Volume Two', Paul dives back into the vaults for more seriously good, rare cuts for all to enjoy. Spanning seventeen tracks, the new compilation represents his continued journey with the Folk Funk & Trippy Troubadours sound. Think of heady sounds to soundtrack balmy English summers and Balearic poolside drops, the compilation includes a huge slab of privately pressed obscurities with some previously unreleased material. Standout tracks include the folk funk masterpiece 'Morning Brings The Light' by Grand Union, pressed to vinyl for the first time here. The previously unreleased groove of 'Undone by Tasha Lee McCluney' co-written with Joey Stec of Curt Boettcher's California supergroup The Millennium. Another vinyl debut 'Teardrops Lost In The Rain (Stallions Remix)' by Findlay Brown, where the original folky Midnight Cowboy soundtrack vibe is elevated by a hypnotic space disco twist, all while still keeping the melodic root of the original version. Another outstanding cut is flute-driven jazz masterpiece 'Weepin' by Cascada' featuring Jaime Roos, Ronald Langestraat and Ben van Bergen on percussion. And the anthemic 'Let Me Ride' by Australian singer/songwriter Peter Campbell will leave you yearning for more. Hillery has had quite a golden run of critically acclaimed compilation releases over the past couple of years, including 'We Are The Children Of The Sun' and 'Once Again We Are The Children Of The Sun', the former was hailed by MOJO as "one of the most emotionally uplifting and hazily beautiful compilations of recent years". Paul also curated the full album re-issue projects of 'Will & James Ragar', 'Forest' and 'Monica Rypma' all for the much-beloved label BBE. In addition to his crate digging and credible curatorial reputation, Paul is also renown for providing information for sleeve notes and magazine articles. He has built longstanding relationships with overlooked and underrated musicians of the 60s, 70s and 80s, which deftly inspires his mission to give these troubadours the exposure they deserve. Paul has carried his record boxes to many a venue and festival playing alongside The Polyphonic Spree, Arthur Lee & Love, Bonnie Dobson, Spiritualized, 4 Hero, Happy Mondays, Simian, The Bees, Julian Cope, Courtney Pine and many, many more. He has also graced the turntables at Jazz Caf , Spiritland, Refuge, Shepherds Bush Empire, Astoria, KoKo, Village Underground, Electric Ballroom, Forum, Festival No.6, Lunar Festival, Edinburgh Festival, Psychemagik's Magik Forest and countless others. All the while continuing to supply guest mixes and commissions for the likes of Apple Music and radio stations here and far. There will also be another release in Paul's other series, 'We Are The Children Of The Setting Sun', to look out for. This compilation is the second in a planned series of releases that we hope you will come to treasure. Lovingly handpicked and released with the full support of all featured artists. Lost gems found on privately pressed obscurities, forgotten studio tapes, and hidden deep in digital folders waiting to be heard again. So tune in, turn on, drop the stylus and join RE:WARM and Paul Hillery on a 'further' ride through the vast and wonderful musical world of Folk Funk & Trippy Troubadours.

Side A:
Morning Brings The Light
Beauty Raise The Tree
Wild Canada

Side B:
The Ballard Of Ho Chi Minh
Song Of Creation
Bamboo In The Wind
Turn On Your Lovelight

Side C:
Prospect Of Wealth
Teardrops Lost In The Rain (Stallions Remix)
Change Is Me, Change Is You

Side D:
Theme IV "A Detective"
Let Me Ride

Stuff about us you might like to know

  • We are a small independent record store that's been selling new vinyl records in Melbourne, Australia since 2011
  • All delivery orders are shipped for $8.95 with Australia Post and include tracking
  • Pickup is availble from 461 High St Northcote. This is a free option during checkout
  • We go to extreme lengths to make sure our customers are happy
  • We use the best mailers available with lots of space for corner protection, and we make sure orders are packed tightly to avoid seam splits
  • We ship almost all orders within 1 business day (excluding special or preorder products)
  • If there are any issue with an order due to damage, delivery issues or faulty discs we cover all costs associated with replacing and/or returning items
  • We're happy to give free expert advice about turntables and hi-fi including setup and playing issues
  • If you want to get in touch, email If you would like to talk to us on the phone, send an email requesting a call back